Penguins 3rd Jersey Debuts Tonight

The Pittsburgh Penguins will debut their new 3rd Jersey on Saturday night at Mellon Arena as they face-off against the Buffalo Sabres.  The classic blue jersey became a hit after being worn at the Winter Classic in Buffalo on New Years Day, but the retro jersey’s roots date back to the late 1960s and early 1970s.  The Penguins changed colors from blue and white to black and gold in 1980 and have not worn any version of the blue jersey on home ice since the 1979-80 season.  It is now the official alternate (aka 3rd) Jersey of the Pittsburgh Penguins and will be worn in 10-more regular season games after tonight’s debut.  The complete schedule for the 3rd Jersey is as follows:

  • Saturday, Nov. 15 Buffalo
  • Tuesday, Nov. 18 Minnesota
  • Saturday, Dec. 20 Toronto
  • Saturday, Dec. 27 Montreal
  • Saturday, Jan. 3 Florida
  • Sunday, Jan. 18 NY Rangers
  • Sunday, Feb. 8 Detroit
  • Wednesday, Feb. 25 NY Islanders
  • Saturday, March 14 Ottawa
  • Sunday, March 22 Philadelphia
  • Wednesday, April 1 New Jersey

The Jersey was unveiled at Dick’s Sporting Goods in the Mall at Robinson back on November 5th.  On hand for the unveiling were Tyler Kennedy, Kris Letang, Eric Godard, Paul Bissonnette and Alex Goligoski. 

 

“The blue uniform at the Winter Classic was designed as a one-time thing, but it became so popular among our fans that we decided to ask the league’s permission to use it as our third jersey,” said team president David Morehouse. “It serves a dual purpose – it is a dynamic new look for our current generation of fans, but it also has its roots back in the 70s, so it honors the rich history of the Penguins franchise in Pittsburgh.”

NHL Winter Classic: Pittsburgh Penguins v Buffalo Sabres

Leave a reply