Training Camp Opens Next Week!

Let’s Go Penguins!  The long and winding road to the 2009 Stanley Cup begins on 16 September as the Pittsburgh Penguins assemble for Training Camp and then head into the pre-season.  In their first official meeting of the new season, the players will spend next Tuesday going through a spate of physicals, testing and meetings at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) facility on the South Side.  On Wednesday, 17 September, the players will assemble at Mellon Arena at 9AM for their first on-ice practice session.  They will continue to meet daily at Mellon Arena from 9AM-1PM through Friday, 19 September, before heading into 5 pre-season games.  All practice sessions will be open to the public and free of charge, with entry through Gate #1 opening at 8:45 AM.                

The Penguins will play their first preseason game at Mellon Arena against the Tampa Bay Lightning on Saturday, 20 September, before traveling to Tampa Bay on 22 September for their second game.  The Penguins then return to host the Toronto Maple Leafs on Wednesday, 24 September, before traveling to Toronto on Friday, 26 September.  The final preseason game will be an exhibition game against Finnish Club Jokerit on 2 October in Helsinki, Finland.  The overseas trip sets up their first two games of the season against the Ottawa Senators which will be played in Stockholm, Sweden, on 4 and 5 October.  The Penguins then return back to Mellon Arena for their home opener on Saturday, 11 October, against the New Jersey Devils.

Penguins 2008-09 Training Camp Schedule

Tuesday, Sept. 16

  • 8-11am medicals, testing & photos
  • 1:30-3:30pm ice available @ Mellon Arena (optional)

Wednesday, Sept. 17

  • 9:00-10:00am practice group A
  • 10:15-11:15am scrimmage – A vs. B
  • 11:30am off-ice training – group A
  • 11:30-12:30pm practice group B
  • 12:45pm off-ice training – group B

Thursday, Sept. 18

  • 9:00-10:00am practice group B
  • 10:15-11:15am scrimmage – A vs. B
  • 11:30am off-ice training – group B
  • 11:30-12:30pm practice group A
  • 12:45pm off-ice training – group A

Friday, Sept. 19

  • 9:00-10:00am practice group A
  • 10:15-11:15am scrimmage – A vs. B
  • 11:30am off-ice training – group A
  • 11:30-12:45pm practice group B
  • 12:45pm off-ice training – group B

Saturday, Sept. 20

  • 9:00-10:00am practice extras
  • 10:30-11:15am practice game group
  • 10:30am extras off ice workout
  • 7:30pm vs. TAMPA BAY

Sunday, Sept. 21

  • 9:00-10:00am group A practice
  • 11:00am group B practice

Monday, Sept. 22

  • 11:30am Practice (at Tampa)
  • 7:00pm game @ TAMPA BAY
  • 10:30am Practice (at Mellon Arena)

Tuesday, Sept. 23

  • 12:00pm Practice

Wednesday, Sept. 24

  • 10:30am practice
  • 7:30pm game vs. TORONTO

Thursday, Sept. 25

  • 12:00pm practice

Friday, Sept. 26

  • 10:30am practice (@ Southpointe)
  • 7:30pm game @ TORONTO

Saturday, Sept. 27

  • 12:00pm practice

Penguins 2008-09 Pre-Season Schedule

  • Saturday, Sept. 20th vs. Tampa Bay 7:30 PM
  • Monday, Sept. 22nd at Tampa Bay 7:00 PM
  • Wednesday, Sept. 24th vs. Toronto 7:30 PM
  • Friday, Sept. 26th at Toronto 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, Oct. 2nd at Jokerit (Finland) 6:30 PM

Leave a reply